Alpha-Arbutin 99% vs 99.5%: How to Compare Supplier Grades Beyond Purity

Disclosure: We may earn a commission if you purchase through links on this page, at no additional cost to you.
Quick Answer
99.5% Alpha-Arbutin is not automatically a better supplier grade than 99% Alpha-Arbutin. For the same exact ingredient identity, 99% means 990 g of stated Alpha-Arbutin per kilogram and 99.5% means 995 g/kg. The nominal difference is only 5 g/kg, or about 0.505% more stated active. That difference can matter, but it is only one field in a supplier specification.
A stronger grade decision asks, in order: Is the material actually Alpha-Arbutin? Is alpha/beta isomer identity controlled? What are the assay specification and actual batch result? What does the supplier report for hydroquinone? What method supports the result? Is the COA lot-specific? Are the specification, TDS and SDS internally consistent? Does the material fit the intended formulation and destination market?
A 99.5% label cannot answer those questions by itself.
What Do 99% and 99.5% Grades Mean?
At the simplest mass-balance level:
99% Alpha-Arbutin = 990 g stated Alpha-Arbutin per kg. 99.5% Alpha-Arbutin = 995 g stated Alpha-Arbutin per kg. Difference = 5 g/kg. Relative stated-active difference = 99.5 / 99 - 1 ≈ 0.505%.
This arithmetic is useful for understanding how small the nominal purity gap is. It does not prove that the two materials have the same impurity profile, alpha/beta isomeric composition, hydroquinone level, analytical method or formulation behavior. That is why 99.5% should be treated as one comparison field rather than a complete quality grade.
Does 99.5% Automatically Mean Better Quality Than 99%?
No universal conclusion follows from assay alone. Consider two hypothetical offers. Supplier A specifies ≥99.0%, provides a numeric hydroquinone result, documents alpha/beta identity, supplies a current lot-specific COA and can provide a chromatogram. Supplier B specifies ≥99.5%, reports hydroquinone only as “Conforms,” gives no method detail beyond “HPLC,” and shows only a generic public COA. Supplier B has the higher nominal assay specification, but Supplier A may provide a stronger qualification package for a buyer who needs traceability and impurity transparency.
That does not make Supplier A universally better. It shows why grade decisions depend on more than the purity headline.
Step 1: Confirm Exact Alpha-Arbutin Identity
Alpha-Arbutin is commonly identified as CAS 84380-01-8, molecular formula C12H16O7 and molecular weight 272.25 g/mol. [1] Do not treat generic “Arbutin” as automatically equivalent to Alpha-Arbutin. Alpha-Arbutin and Beta-Arbutin are distinguishable isomers. Published analytical methods have been developed specifically to determine or separate the two forms. [2][3] For procurement, record the exact ingredient name, CAS number, supplier product code or grade, INCI/name used on the specification, and identity test or analytical basis where relevant.
If the product name says Alpha-Arbutin but the document identity fields point to a different arbutin form, resolve that conflict before comparing purity or price.
Step 2: Ask How the Supplier Controls Alpha vs Beta Isomer
This is one of the most important differences that a simple 99% or 99.5% headline can hide. A 2010 HPLC method used defined reversed-phase conditions and 220 nm detection. A 2022 hydrophilic-interaction chromatography method used different conditions and 284 nm detection and achieved baseline separation of both isomers. [2][3] The buyer lesson is straightforward: “HPLC tested” does not automatically tell you whether the supplier’s method is designed to distinguish Alpha-Arbutin from Beta-Arbutin, or how well it does so.
Some current commercial specifications explicitly include a beta-arbutin limit alongside the Alpha-Arbutin assay. That is useful as a supplier-specific example, but it is not a universal industry limit.
Questions to ask: Is beta-arbutin or isomeric purity included in the specification? Is the result numeric or only pass/fail? What method is used to distinguish the isomers? Can the supplier provide the method reference or chromatogram if required?
Step 3: Compare Hydroquinone Data Separately From Assay
A high Alpha-Arbutin assay does not tell you the hydroquinone result. Current public supplier pages and COAs show different hydroquinone specifications and claims, including ≤10 ppm, <10 ppm, ≤1 ppm and stronger marketing statements such as “zero hydroquinone.” These are supplier-specific statements, not a universal legal raw-material threshold.
The SCCS concluded that hydroquinone in formulations containing Alpha-Arbutin or Beta-Arbutin should remain as low as possible and should not be higher than unavoidable traces. In the studies reviewed by SCCS, 1 ppm was a reported analytical LOD and 3 ppm was an LOQ; those analytical capabilities are not universal legal limits. [4] Commission Regulation (EU) 2024/996 is in force. For cosmetics within its scope, Alpha-Arbutin is restricted to a maximum 2% in face creams and 0.5% in body lotions, and hydroquinone in products containing Alpha-Arbutin or Arbutin should not exceed unavoidable trace levels. [5]
Keep four layers separate: supplier raw-material hydroquinone specification; actual batch hydroquinone result; analytical LOD/LOQ; and finished-product regulatory requirement.
Keep supplier limits separate from EU law
Step 4: Separate Specification From Actual Batch Result
A grade specification tells you what the material is required to meet. A batch result tells you what the tested lot reportedly achieved. Public Alpha-Arbutin COAs illustrate the difference. A supplier may specify ≥99.5% HPLC and then report an actual lot result such as 99.98% or 100.0%. [6] The higher result does not automatically become the guaranteed specification for future lots. Record two columns: assay specification and actual batch assay result. Do the same for hydroquinone, loss on drying, residue on ignition, specific rotation and other decision-relevant fields.
“Conforms” is also different from a numeric result. It tells you that the supplier says the criterion was met, but it does not disclose the exact value.
Step 5: Do Not Assume All HPLC Results Are Method-Equivalent
HPLC is a technique, not one universal Alpha-Arbutin test. Published methods for Alpha-/Beta-Arbutin use different columns, mobile phases, wavelengths and sample-preparation procedures. [2][3] That means two suppliers can both report “99.5% HPLC” while using different analytical methods.
For routine sourcing, a buyer may not need a complete validation package from every supplier. But when method comparability, isomer separation or hydroquinone control matters, ask for the analytical method reference, detector/wavelength where relevant, chromatogram, reference standard, sample-preparation basis, reporting basis and system-suitability information where required by your quality system. A purity number without method context is weaker evidence than a purity number linked to a defined analytical procedure.
What Do Current Public Supplier Grades Look Like?
Current public supplier pages reviewed in September 2026 do not show one single universal Alpha-Arbutin grade label. Examples include ≥99.0% HPLC with additional controls such as beta-arbutin and free hydroquinone; ≥99.5% HPLC with lot-specific COA availability; ≥99.6% HPLC with current-batch COA availability; and pages stating ≥98% as an available grade alongside higher-assay options. [6] These observations show market diversity, not an official grade ladder. A buyer should not convert 99% = standard, 99.5% = premium, 99.6% = best into a universal rule. Compare the whole evidence package.
A Practical Grade Comparison Table
| Field | Supplier Grade A | Supplier Grade B | Buyer question |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exact identity | Alpha-Arbutin / CAS 84380-01-8 | Alpha-Arbutin / CAS 84380-01-8 | Do identity fields match? |
| Assay specification | ≥99.0% | ≥99.5% | Is the 0.5-point difference meaningful here? |
| Actual batch result | Numeric result | Numeric or Conforms | Is the current lot documented? |
| Alpha/Beta control | Reported / method stated | Not stated | Can the method distinguish isomers? |
| Hydroquinone | Spec + numeric result | Spec or Conforms only | What is the actual batch value? |
| HPLC method | Reference available | “HPLC” only | Are results meaningfully comparable? |
| COA | Lot-specific | Public/sample only | Does it match the shipment? |
| Technical docs | Current spec/TDS/SDS | Partial package | Is the package qualification-ready? |
| MOQ/sample | Commercial term | Commercial term | Can the material be qualified at reasonable risk? |
The table is designed to expose missing information before a purity number is treated as a grade decision.
Which Documents Strengthen a Supplier Grade Claim?
A useful qualification package can include a current product specification, lot-specific COA, HPLC chromatogram or analytical report where needed, TDS, SDS, identity/isomer information, hydroquinone result or analytical report, microbiological or elemental data where relevant, stability/storage information where relevant, and quality/manufacturing certificates when they matter to the buyer’s supplier-approval system. Certifications and document lists should still be verified. A certificate does not automatically prove the current batch’s assay, hydroquinone content or suitability for your formulation.
What About Supplier Claims Such as “10x More Effective” or “More Stable”?
Treat broad potency or stability multipliers as claims that need context. Current commercial pages often compare Alpha-Arbutin with Beta-Arbutin using simple “x-times” performance or stability language. Ingredexa does not use those claims as a grade-ranking shortcut. Performance can depend on the exact endpoint, assay, formulation, concentration and test conditions. For procurement, a supplier’s broad marketing statement should not override ingredient identity, batch specification, analytical evidence, formulation testing or destination-market requirements.
If a performance claim matters commercially, request the underlying study and check whether the material, formulation and endpoint match your own use case.
How Do EU Rules Affect the Grade Decision?
The current EU rule applies at the finished-cosmetic level, not as a simple raw-material grade label. Commission Regulation (EU) 2024/996 restricts Alpha-Arbutin to a maximum 2% in face creams and 0.5% in body lotions, and requires hydroquinone in cosmetic products containing Alpha-Arbutin or Arbutin not to exceed unavoidable trace levels. [5] A 99.5% raw material therefore does not automatically create an easier regulatory outcome than a 99% raw material.
The buyer still needs to consider actual raw-material impurity data, intended use level, product category, formulation and stability, other hydroquinone sources or formation pathways, and destination-market requirements. Supplier-grade selection and finished-product compliance are connected, but they are not the same decision. Likewise, a very high assay value does not replace supplier traceability and batch documentation.
Current Alpha-Arbutin Sourcing Link
Alpha-Arbutin Grade Red Flags
Investigate further when you see: “Arbutin” without clear alpha/beta identity; Alpha-Arbutin paired with conflicting CAS or identity fields; 99.5% or 99.9% used as the entire quality argument; hydroquinone claimed as “zero” without a reporting basis; “HPLC tested” with no method context when isomer separation matters; a public/sample COA presented as proof of the shipment batch; specification and actual result mixed into one field; supplier marketing that converts purity directly into a universal efficacy claim; certifications used as a substitute for batch data; or old/undated specifications with no revision control.
A red flag is a reason to ask for clarification, not an automatic accusation.
Questions to Send the Supplier
- Please confirm the exact product name, CAS 84380-01-8 and your internal grade/product code.
- Is the assay specification ≥99.0%, ≥99.5% or another value?
- What is the actual assay result for the lot you would ship?
- Is beta-arbutin or alpha/beta isomeric purity controlled?
- What analytical method is used for Alpha-Arbutin assay and isomer separation?
- What is the hydroquinone specification?
- What is the numeric hydroquinone result for the current lot?
- What are the method LOD/LOQ or reporting limits if the result is ND, <X or Conforms?
- Can you provide the lot-specific COA and chromatogram if required?
- Please provide the current specification, TDS and SDS.
- What is the sample quantity, MOQ, package size and lead time?
- Has the material been evaluated in a formulation similar to ours, and can the supporting data be shared?
Alpha-Arbutin Grade Comparison Checklist
- Confirm exact Alpha-Arbutin identity.
- Confirm CAS 84380-01-8.
- Check alpha/beta isomer control when relevant.
- Record assay specification.
- Record actual batch assay separately.
- Record hydroquinone specification.
- Request the numeric hydroquinone result when decision-relevant.
- Keep LOD/LOQ separate from legal requirements.
- Record HPLC method context.
- Confirm the COA matches the current lot.
- Review current specification, TDS and SDS.
- Check formulation and destination-market fit.
- Compare MOQ and commercial terms only after technical qualification.
- Do not let a 0.5% assay difference substitute for the rest of the evidence.
Before ordering, confirm that the affiliate link still resolves to the intended Product ID and request the current specification, lot-specific COA, hydroquinone data and analytical documents.
This is a current sourcing entry, not a permanent supplier ranking.
Related reading
References
- PubChem. Alpha-Arbutin, CID 158637. CAS 84380-01-8; C12H16O7; MW 272.25.
- Cheng P, Chen M, Zhu Y. Determination of alpha-arbutin, beta-arbutin and niacinamide in cosmetics by HPLC. PMID 20458928.
- Repert S, Matthes S, Rozhon W. Quantification of Arbutin in Cosmetics, Drugs and Food Supplements by HILIC. Molecules. 2022;27(17):5673. PMID 36080435.
- Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety. Opinion on the safety of alpha- and beta-arbutin in cosmetic products. SCCS/1642/22. Final 31 January 2023.
- Commission Regulation (EU) 2024/996 of 3 April 2024.
- Greenway, Natural Field, SourceIngredients, Noyain/Skincareactive and UPOR public Alpha-Arbutin supplier pages/COAs reviewed 18 September 2026. Supplier-specific statements are treated as market observations, not universal standards.
Related content
Continue exploring related ingredient research and sourcing guides.

Alpha-Arbutin vs Kojic Acid Dipalmitate: A Formulation, Stability & Sourcing Comparison for Buyers
Compare Alpha-Arbutin and Kojic Acid Dipalmitate by water/oil phase fit, stability evidence, regulation, COA/QC burden, supplier grade and effective sourcing cost.

Glabridin vs Alpha-Arbutin: A Formulation, Evidence & Sourcing Comparison for Buyers
Compare Glabridin and Alpha-Arbutin by identity, evidence, solubility, formulation fit, regulation, COA risks, supplier qualification and effective sourcing cost—not one potency number.

How to Choose an Alpha-Arbutin Supplier: Hydroquinone, HPLC, COA & MOQ Checklist
Qualify Alpha-Arbutin suppliers by identity, alpha/beta isomer control, assay, hydroquinone, HPLC method, lot COA, certificates, samples, MOQ and repeat-supply risk.

Alpha-Arbutin Bulk Price: How Buyers Should Compare 99% and 99.5% Quotes
Compare Alpha-Arbutin bulk quotes by identity, assay, hydroquinone data, MOQ, packaging, freight and effective sourcing cost instead of price per kilogram alone.